Featured News and Announcements

Renewing Your Membership for 2022?
SIAM Student Paper Prize
Election Results Announced

Major Prizes & Lectures

Richard C. DiPrima Prize

The prize was established in 1986 in memory of Richard C. DiPrima, who served SIAM for many years and in 1979–1980 as SIAM President. It aims to recognize an early career researcher in applied mathematics and is based on the doctoral dissertation.

Next Call for Nominations Opens: May 1, 2023

Prize Description

Prize Description

The Richard C. DiPrima Prize is awarded every two years to one early career researcher who has done outstanding research in applied mathematics and who has completed his/her doctoral dissertation and completed all other requirements for his/her doctorate.

Eligibility Criteria

The requirements for the doctorate must have been equivalent to those for a U.S. doctorate. The dissertation must represent a topic of applied mathematics (defined as those topics covered by the SIAM journals). The dissertation must be submitted in English. An English translation is acceptable.

Candidates for the prize must have completed their doctoral dissertations and all other requirements for their doctorates during the period running from three to one years prior to the award date, selection is based on the dissertations of the candidates.

For the 2022 award, the candidate must have completed their dissertation and all other requirements between July 1 2019 - June 30, 2021.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Digital version of the candidate’s doctoral dissertation (PDF required)

Attend the Meeting

The 2022 Richard C. DiPrima Prize will be awarded at AN22.

~*Learn More*~

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Selection Committee

Selection Committee


Béatrice Rivière
Rice University


Jonathan Rubin
University of Pittsburgh
Stefan Ulbrich
Technische University Darmstadt

About the Award

About the Richard C. DiPrima Prize

The Richard C. DiPrima prize includes a $2,000 monetary prize and a certificate. SIAM will reimburse the recipient for reasonable travel expenses incurred in attending the award ceremony.

Award Date

The Richard C. DiPrima Prize will next be awarded in 2022 at the SIAM Annual Meeting.

Award Presentation

The prize will be presented by the SIAM President at the Prizes and Awards Luncheon. The announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, the SIAM website, and appropriate electronic media.

Prize History

Prize History

Selection Committee

Chad Topaz (Chair)
Janet Best
Jun Zou

Selection Committee

Hans Kaper (Chair)
Paul A. Martin
Michael Hintermueller

Selection Committee

George Yin (Chair)
Lora Billings
William D. Henshaw

Selection Committee

John Lowengrub (Chair)
Francisco Marcellan
Karen Willcox

Selection Committee

Robert D. Skeel (Chair)
Liliana Borcea
Alan R. Champneys
Bengt Fornberg
Daan Huybrechs

Selection Committee

James H. Curry (Chair)
Patricia E. Bauman
Philip Maini

Selection Committee

Jaroslav Stark (Chair)
Gerda de Vries
Sharon R. Lubkin

Selection Committee

Marshall Slemrod (Chair)
Yuriko Y Renardy
Daniel B. Szyld

Selection Committee

Andrew J. Wathen (Chair)
Emmanuele DiBenedetto
Suzanne M. Lenhart

2002 Gang Hu

Selection Committee

Joseph E. Flaherty (Chair)
Russel E. Caflisch

2000 Keith Lindsay
1998 Bart De Schutter
1996 David Paul Williamson
1994 Stephen Jonathan Chapman
1992 Anne Bourlioux and Robin Carl Young
1988 Mary E. Brewster


Contact Prize Program